Emily’s Backpack

During the summer, I read Finding Someplace by Denise Lewis Patrick. The book was about a girl named Reesie during Hurricane Katrina. Reesie was being forced to flee from her hometown in New Orleans because of the hurricane. She had a backpack that she had packed at the last minute on her own, which included important papers, her phone, some food, and other emergency supplies. I think she packed well, considering she didn’t have much time on hand. 

When I read Finding Someplace, I decided to pack a backpack of my own. In my backpack I packed extra clothing because I didn’t want to be cold, basic food/snacks because I didn’t want to be hungry, a water bottle/filter because I wanted something clean to drink, and an iPad/portable charger so I can contact people and recharge my iPad without needing a plug. I also brought a flashlight/batteries because I wanted a light when it’s dark outside, a First Aid kit if anyone has any injuries or gets hurt, and an umbrella/rain coat if it starts raining outside. In case something happens to my flashlight, I would also bring a headlight and a lantern. I hope I packed everything I need if I were to go on the same adventures as Reesie. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *